top of page

Photo: Cato Lein

​Born 1980 in Jönköping, Sweden, Valfridsson belongs to a new generation of Scandinavian composers. With a mix from both modernistic and other traditions, Valfridssons music is appreciated for it's colorful instrumentation, subtle textures and mysterious beauty. He works mostly with orchestras and chamber ensembles with electronics, where he tries to make a very close connection between the idioms of the electronic and instrumental music.


Valfridsson has a masters degree in composition, and has studied in Gothenburg, Paris and Stockholm.  His orchestra work In Killing Fields Sweet Butterfly Ascend was awarded the Toru Takemitsu composition award 2007, The Only Thing You Keep Changing is Your Name recieved Uppsala Composition award in 2010, and A Sudden Recollection; Le Jardin des Plantes recieved Anne-Sophie Mutter Composition award in 2013. In 2009 he received a scholarship to work at the Internationales Künstlerhaus Villa Concordia in Bamberg, Germany, and 2014 he became composer-in-residence with the Riga sinfonietta.



Gehrmans biography (swedish)


STIM magasinet (se)

STIM magasinet (en)

Download Hi-Res images



bottom of page